Back To My Roots

In the last year or so, I’ve been really trying to reconnected with my Hispanic roots. I’ve been trying to immerse myself in my language and culture as much as possible – especially now that I don’t live with my parents. And although I know I will always be Mexican, I am starting to feel disconnected from my culture – as if I’m losing it.

Since leaving the nest, my Spanish vocabulary has declined and I’ve forgotten completely how to say some words – which is just pathetic. There’s nothing here on the east coast that reminds me of my roots and to top it off I’m getting whiter which doesn’t help. And it’s not like I haven’t had this “white” skin issue before. It’s just gotten worse since moving here to Boston.

So, what have been doing to get me back to my roots? Aside from eating as many conchas as possible – I’ve been listening to a ton of Spanish music and even became addicted a novela. I’ve linked a playlist I curated in case anyone is interested! It’s mostly indie stuff, but overall still really great jams and jellies.

As for the novel I’ve been watching – its about the Cuban artist Celia Cruz and her journey to fame (availabile on Netflix). If anyone loves Cuban music and also Celia Cruz, then you have to watch this show. It’s historically accurate (or so I believe) and it’s like you get a mini concert with every forty minute episode. Here’s the first episode so you can get addicted. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Back To My Roots

    1. Glad you liked them! I have a few other playlist on my Spotify account if you’d like to check them out! My Spotify account handle is cristal_michelle. I don’t have a Facebook, but you’re more than welcome to share my Spotify handle and have them check out my other playlist! Happy listening!

Leave a Reply

